Spanish La Liga dominates Ballon d’Or nominees

Spanish La Liga dominates Ballon d’Or nominees


La Liga dominate the Ballon d’Or nominees, boasting almost twice as many as their nearest league rivals.

The Spanish top flight has 13 representatives, beating the Premier League’s eight, Bundesliga with five, Serie A’s three and Portugal’s Primeira Liga sole nod.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Luis Suarez, Gareth Bale, Antoine Griezmann, Diego Godin, Andres Iniesta, Koke, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric, Pepe and Sergio Ramos make up La Liga’s nominees.

Spain, though, are not the most represented nationality, with their three nods trumped by Argentina and France’s four.

Messi, Gonzalo Higuain, Paulo Dybala and Sergio Aguero of Argentina and Griezmann, Hugo Lloris, Dimitri Payet and Paul Pogba of France make up the strongest showing from the two countries.

Jamie Vardy is the only Englishman nominated, becoming the first since Wayne Rooney’s 2012 nod, and is joined by Lloris, Payet, Pogba, Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Leicester City team-mate Riyad Mahrez from the Premier League.