Home News INEC releases more Rivers rerun results

INEC releases more Rivers rerun results


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday evening released additional five results from the March 19, 2016, Rivers State legislative rerun elections.

Three Federal and two State Constituency seats were released by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Aniedi Ikoiwak, at the Commission’s head office in Port Harcourt, Rivers state capital.

In the released result, the People’s Democratic Party (C) candidates cleared the three federal seats.

For Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 1, Kenneth Chikere (PDP) won by polling 18,904 votes, to defeat his close rival, Igo Aguma (APC), who scored 6,035 votes.

Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 2, Blessing Nsiegbe (PDP) scored 6,968 votes to defeat Collins Owhondah (APC), who polled 3,154 votes.

For Obio/Akpor Federal Constituency, Kingsley Chinda of PDP scored 27,895 votes, while the APC candidate, Anthony Okocha, got 9,514 votes.

Also, the candidate of APC, Benibo Anabraba, won the State Constituency seat for Akuku-Toru 2; he scored 2,970 votes.

He defeated the PDP candidate, Tonye Alalibo, who was disqualified by the electoral body.

Adoki Smart of PDP, for Port Harcourt Constituency 2 scored 15,244 votes, to beat Mrs. Irene Inimgba of APC, who polled 2,844 votes.

According to the result, PDP has taken 13 federal and state seats, while APC got two seats from the results announced so far by INEC.

In a statement signed by the REC, Ikoiwak, investigation was ongoing by the Commission and the details would be made public after investigation.

He said the additional five results were the outcome of INEC’s meeting in Abuja.

Previous article10 Steps to make the girls go crazy about you
Next articleEgypt match won’t determine Siasia’s fate – NFF