Home Sports Nigeria unveils squad for African Wrestling Championship

Nigeria unveils squad for African Wrestling Championship


The Nigeria Wrestling Federation (NWF) has announced a tentative 22-man list expected to represent the country at the 2019 African Senior Wrestling Championships in Hammamet, Tunisia. The list is made up of 16 athletes, 5 officials and an accompanying referee.

Subject to the availability of funds for their flight tickets and accommodation, the 22-man delegation is expected to depart Nigeria early next week for the continental showpiece slated for 26th to 31st March in the North African Nation.

The list, which is headlined by 8-time (consecutive) African Champion Blessing Oborududu, also has Commonwealth Champions Odunayo Adekuoroye and Aminat Adeniyi as well as Mercy Genesis, Ifeoma Nwoye, Sunmisola Balogun, Hannah Reuben, Emmanuel Ogbonnaya, Amas Daniel, all African champions in their respective weight classes.

The wrestlers will be guided by experienced national team coaches Purity Akuh and Victor Kodei, with Dr. Oyinbo Samson attending to their medical needs.

NWF President Daniel Igali, a World and Olympic champion and Secretary of the Federation Almu Lambu are expected to be part of the delegation, which will be accompanied by highly-rated referee Usman Yusuf, who will be on officiating duties at the Championships.

Nigeria are the defending champions in Women Wrestling, having won 9 of available 10 gold medals at the last African Championships hosted in Port Harcourt a year ago.



  1. Genesis Mercy (50kg)
  2. Nweke Rosemary (53kg)
  3. Kolawole Esther (55kg)
  4. Adekuoroye Odunayo (57kg)
  5. Nwoye Ifeoma (59kg)
  6. Aminat Adeniyi (62kg)
  7. Balogun Sunmisola (65kg)
  8. Oborududu Blessing (68kg)
  9. Hannah Reuben (72kg)
  10. Onyebuchi Blessing (76kg)


11.Welson Ebikewenimo(57kg)

  1. Amas Daniel (65kg)
  2. Nworie Emmanuel(71kg)
  3. John Emmanuel (74kg)
  4. Agiomor Ekerekeme(79kg)
  5. Bibo Melvin (86kg)


17.Victor Kodei (Coach)

  1. Akuh Purity (Coach)
  2. Oyinbo Samson (Medical)
  3. Almu Lambu (Secretary)
  4. Hon, Daniel Igali (President)
  5. Usman Yusuf (Referee)
Previous articleChristchurch shooting: New Zealand bans military-style firearms
Next articleTambuwal re-elected as Sokoto State Governor