Home Politics APC stakeholders move to resolve internal crisis in Rivers State

APC stakeholders move to resolve internal crisis in Rivers State


Ugochukwu Iwuchukwu

In a bid to resolve the on-going crisis in the All Progressives Party APC in Rivers State some stakeholders have commenced move to reconcile the two factions in the state.

This follows a meeting held in Port Harcourt on Sunday, 19th January at the Presidential Hotel to discuss ways to resolve the on-going crisis that has rocked the party since 2018.

The Convener of the meeting and former House of Representatives Member Emma Deeyar said the move was to move the party forward in the state.

Emma Deeyar while briefing journalists after the meeting said they would meet with the principal actors of the two factions and fashion out ways to reconcile them.

He said the crisis made the party not to nominate a candidate in the 2019 general elections in Rivers State.

Emma Deeyar also said they would continue to tow the part of reconciliation until they resolve all lingering issues including court cases.

Also speaking during the meeting, former Member of the House of Representatives, Igo Aguma said he went to court because the APC did not follow due process in the appointment of a caretaker committee in the state.

 Igo Aguma said he wants the court to interpret the constitution because former statehouses and national assembly members were excluded in the formation of the state executive.

He also said that he supports the move to reconcile the aggrieved members of the party in a bid to form a common front in the state.

In his comment, Chidi Wihioka, a former member of the House of Representatives attributes lack of leadership to the current crisis in the party in Rivers State.

He said that he wants peace to return to the party ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Some APC members who attended the meeting include former chairman of Rivers State Civil Service Commission Ngo Martins Yellowe, Senator Wilson Ake, former commissioner for Agriculture Emma Chinda, former commissioner for Power Austin Okocha, former Chief of Staff Tony Okocha amongst others.