Home Sports Uniport wins Port Harcourt T20 Cricket League

Uniport wins Port Harcourt T20 Cricket League


Ugochukwu Iwuchukwu

University of Port Harcourt Cricket Club has emerged winners of the 2019/20 Port Harcourt Cricket League T20 series.

Uniport Cricket Club defeated Panthers Cricket team by 88 runs to win the T20 league series.

The Uniport Cricket Club won the title on their league debut in the seven-year-old competition.

The Coach of Uniport Cricket Club Tamuno John while expressing happiness on their victory said the club is using the league to prepare for the forthcoming NUGA games in UNILAG.

Tamuno John said that the team’s determination and commitment gave them the edge over their opponents.

The sponsors of the Port Harcourt Cricket League Flex360 represented by Tola Adesokan said they are excited to part of cricket development in Rivers State.

Tola Adesokan said Flex360 will continue to create awareness for the game of cricket as a way of giving back to the society.

In his comment, the Chairman of Rivers State Cricket Association, Emeka Idika said they would continue to improve the league in the next edition of the competition.

He said they will toe the line of Nigeria Cricket Federation NCF in developing the sports at the grassroots.

Idika said more tournaments would be organized for secondary schools in the state to create more awareness for the game.

In the meantime, the Director of the University of Port Harcourt Sports Institute Dr.Ken Anikweje says that the Institution will continue to break new grounds in sports in the country.

Dr.Ken Anikweje said this after the Uniport Cricket lead lifted the 2019/20 Port Harcourt Cricket lead.

He said that the University of Port Harcourt has a culture of winning in their DNA.

Dr. Anikweje also said the Institution will prepare the team for their forthcoming Nigeria University Games at University of Lagos.

Our correspondent reports that the winners went home with 30 thousand naira cash prize while the first runner up received 20 thousand naira.

Award winners in the T20 Series

Best Batman: Ahamefule Sunday

Best Bowler: Ahamefule Sunday

Best Fielder: Vincent Adewoye

Best Wicket Keeper: Jude Okechi

Previous articleWrestling: NWF to open Olympic Camp In Yenagoa
Next articleNow that the Nigerian government can tax the likes of Google and Facebook, what’s next